Top Gun Cake

Top Gun Day is randomly celebrated on May 13th every year. This year, I decided to make a cake to commemorate this day since it is my husband’s favorite movie of all time. The ideas are great, but the execution and the photography didn’t match up.

At first glance, it may not look like an obvious Top Gun cake to you, but that  just means that you haven’t watched the movie enough times. The check represents a line from the movie. I had the idea for the check, the payee and the signature and the husband came up with the rest of the numbers on it. I’ll leave it to you to figure out what they mean. When you cut open the cake, there are supposed to be two airplanes dog fighting.

Top Gun Cake 1

It is a chocolate cake with chocolate butter cream frosting. The check (or cheque) on top is white fondant that I tried to write on with some food pens. I was so focused on not smudging things that I miss-spelled Maverick.

Top Gun Cake 2

Leave a Reply

